NPRA Inaugurates Its Fourth Audit Committee


The National Pensions Regulatory Authority (NPRA) has inaugurated its 4th Audit Committee with the mandate to ensure efficient and effective performance of the Authority. The committee is chaired by Mr. Robert Kow Ewur from the Internal Audit Agency (IAA) with Rev. Daniel Ogbarmey Tetteh and Mr. Joseph Nii Noi Adumuah as members representing the Board of the Authority. Other members include Mr. John Kwasi Adjei, representative from the Internal Audit Agency,and Mr. Yaw Banahene Adjei representative from the Institute of Chartered Accountants (ICA).

While inaugurating the five-member Audit committee, Dr. Eric Oduro Osae, Director-General of the Internal Audit Service, urged the members to collaborate with Management and the Board to ensure effective operations of the Authority. He called on the members to work hard to ensure that the external auditors do not raise issues with regard to the performance of the Authority.

The Chairman of the committee, Mr. Robert Kow Ewur in his remarks acknowledged the responsibility placed on them as the Audit Committee and pledged that the committee will work with the Internal Audit Unit and management to support the effective functioning of the Authority.

He said the committee is aware of the important role the Authority plays in the financial sector and promises to provide the necessary advice to management to preserve the integrity of the Authority.

As per their role, the audit committee is mandated to ensure the implementation of recommendation(s) contained in the Internal audit reports, Parliament’s decisions on the Auditor-General’s report, and Auditor-General’s Management Letter on the external audit of the Authority among others.  They are also expected to play an advisory role including, providing advice on sound, transparent, and reliable financial management practices, and helping to achieve organization-wide strong and effective internal controls in the Authority and among others.